FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Road Ready Registration, Inc. has compiled the most commonly asked questions asked by our customers. These answers will assist you and your company towards understanding the process and what is necessary to operate as an intrastate or interstate carrier.
What is an ICC/MC#?
Is an authority to operate in interstate through multiple states.
What does FMCSA mean?
FMCSA stands for Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. They are the entity that manages the regulating authorities.
What is a Private Carrier?
A company that provides truck transportation of its own cargo.
What is a For – Hire Carrier?
A company that provides truck transportation of cargo belonging to others and is compensated for it.
Freight Forwarder vs Broker?
A Freight Forwarder is a company to provide the actual truck transportation.
A Broker is a company that arranges for truck transportation of cargo belonging to others, utilizing for hire-carriers to provide the actual truck transportation.
What does it mean to travel interstate?
Traveling interstate means to travel in multiple states.
What does it mean to travel intrastate?
Traveling intrastate means to travel in one state.
What is USDOT?
The USDOT number serves as a unique identifier when collecting and monitoring a company’s safety information acquired during audits, compliance reviews, crash investigations, and inspections.
Who must file a MCS-150?
Any interstate/intrastate carrier who has a USDOT#.
How much insurance is required to drive a truck?
Depending on what type of carrier you are freight requirements are $750,000 minimum. For Brokers of Freight a Surety bond of $75,000.00 is required.
What is UCRA?
Unified Carrier Registration Act- this is a permit that you must have if you operate in interstate or international commerce. It is required to register your business with all participating states. This is a Federal requirement and you will get fined or shut down if this is not kept up to date. This is required to be updated yearly.
What is CA/ MCP?
This is a permit required for any commercial vehicle(s) that is to be operated in California whether it is used for intrastate or interstate operations.
What is EPN?
Employer Pull Notice program, established to provide employers of commercial drivers and regulatory agencies a means of promoting driver safety through ongoing review of driver records.
What is IFTA?
The International Fuel Tax Agreement is a cooperative agreement among states and provinces in the US and Canada. It is designed to simplify fuel tax licensing and reporting requirements for interstate motor carriers. This permit is renewed every year. If you have IFTA your mileage must be reported quarterly.
What is the New Mexico Permit?
This permit is required by New Mexico to accompany your IRP cab card and will allow you to travel through the scales of New Mexico without being fined. This permit is renewed every year.
What is the Kentucky Permit?
This permit is required by Kentucky to accompany your IRP cab card and will allow you to travel through the scales of Kentucky without being fined. This permit is non- expiring.
What is the New York HUT Permit?
New York State imposes a highway use tax (HUT) on motor carriers operating certain motor vehicles on New York State public highways. HUT is required by NY to be on file and will allow you to travel through New York scales without being fined. This permit is renewed every 2 years.
What is the Oregon WDT (Weight Distance Tax) Permit?
This permit is required by Oregon to accompany your IRP cab card and will allow you to travel through Oregon scales without being fined. An Oregon Bond is also required and monthly mileage reports with Oregon to stay in good standing. This permit is renewed every year.
What is CARB compliance?
This regulation requires diesel trucks and buses that operate in California to be upgraded to reduce emissions or install a particulate filter.
What is IRP?
International Registration Plan is a registration reciprocity agreement among the United States and provinces of Canada providing for payment of apportion able fees on the basis of total distance operated in all jurisdictions.
What is an IRP/ IFTA audit?
Collecting documentation or trip mileage log sheets or charts to verify actual fuel used and mileage reported to the state.
What is a 2290 and when is it necessary?
2290 is Heavy Highway Vehicle Use Tax is a fee assessed annually on heavy vehicles operating on public highways at registered gross weights equal to or exceeding 55,000 GVW.
What is the Electronic Logging Device (ELD)?
A device that automatically records a driver’s driving time, that facilities the accurate recording of the driver’s Hours of Service, that meets the technical specifications of the ELD rule, and that is integrally synchronized with the engine of the commercial motor vehicle (CMV).
What is Pre-pass?
Pre- pass is an automatic vehicle identification (AVI) system that enables participating transponder- equipped commercial vehicles to be pre-screened throughout the nation at designated weight stations, port- of entry facilities, and agricultural interdiction facilities. Cleared vehicles are then able to “bypass” the facility while traveling at highway speed, eliminating the need to stop, unless the driver is out of compliance in some way.
What is a BOC- 3 Filing?
A BOC-3 is a United States federal filing that designates legal agents upon which process may be served. It pertains mostly to individuals or companies in the transportation and logistics industry, and its often required before certain federal operating authorities can be granted within the United States. BOC stands for “blanket of coverage” and it typically assigns a person or business in each of the 50 US states to receive and forward legal documents.
A process agent is a representative upon whom court papers may be served in any proceeding brought against a motor carrier, broker, or freight forwarder. When all Unified Registration System (URS) provisions are implemented, every motor carrier (of property or passengers) shall make a designation for each state in which it is authorized to operate and for each state traversed during such operations. Before that time, only for-hire carriers are required to designate a process agent. Brokers are required to list process agents in each state in which they have an office and in which they write contracts.
FAQ’s on Transferring a vehicle certificate of title in California:
A vehicle title can be processed through Road Ready in three easy steps, We are part of the Business Partner program through our state agency and are considered a local provider which allows us to have very little or no wait time. Since we are a privatized, licensed and bonded there is a service fee that will apply.
How is a Certificate of Title Issued?
You’ll need the vehicle’s Certificate of Title, indicating the seller is the owner. Their name must be on the document. The certificate of title is in essence proof of ownership and is needed to register the vehicle in your name. You must ensure there is no second name on the title. If there are two names which are separated by an “AND” or “/” you will need to obtain signatures from bought owners before the transfer can be made legal. Two names separated by an “OR” allows either owner to make the sale and either owner may sign the title.
Why is a certificate of title referred to as a “pink slip?”
Both terms are one and the same as they used to be pink in color. Once you agree to purchase a vehicle a seller will sign off the title and give it to you with a bill of sale. We can assist if they forgot to sign on line one (1). Line one (1) indicates “Release of Ownership”. The seller must sign off on line one (1) and if there is an and indicated with a second name on title then on line two (2), that person must sign as well but only in the case of two owners. The DMV will not transfer the vehicle title without these signature(s).Depending on if this is a car or larger commercial vehicle, the odometer portion of the title may need to be filled out and signed by both parties. We can assist with the alternative forms needed if necessary.
Why have a Bill of Sale?
A bill-of-sale is not required by the DMV in order to transfer a car’s title but is highly recommended for the purpose of “proof of purchase” and record keeping. Complete a detailed bill of sale and have the seller sign it, for your protection. A Bill-of-Sale can be written by you or the seller but must be signed by both. You may draft a bill of sale yourself or download one prepared by the State of California DMV from our download forms page.
Why do you need a smog certificate?
You might need a smog certificate. Gasoline powered vehicles 4 years and newer do not require one, and full electric vehicles are exempt as well. Some commercial vehicles, even if diesel, ma need a smog as well. A smog check is not required when a title transfer occurs between immediate family members. If your transfer does not fall into one of these smog exemption categories you will need to provide the DMV a valid smog certificate before your title transfer process can be completed. A smog certificate is valid for 90 days from the date of inspection.
Vehicles which are not required to provide a smog inspection will be assessed a smog transfer fee. To determine the first year your vehicle will need a change-of-ownership smog check, add four to the model year of the vehicle. Note: Diesel powered vehicle’s are exempt from the four or less model years old rule.
How does the Smog Check Program for California DMV work?
Once you have all your documents in order then we are ready to start the process and pay all applicable title transfer fees your transfer has special circumstance(s), the three documents above will suffice in getting car most cars titled and transferred to your name. If it is a family transfer, the requirements are the same with an additional form needed. It could also be smog exempt. This is why our privatized service will become a very vital avenue for all your titling needs.
What is needed when you purchase a vehicle?
We are here to assist with your needs when you purchase a vehicle. Some of the most important things needed are not always mentioned on your first appointment when you enter a state agency. We pride ourselves in being very informative with everything we will need so we can provide you with fast and quick turnaround time.
One important document need on a purchase is a bill of sale or invoice These documents needs to identify the vehicle information such as the following data:
• Date of purchase.
• Seller name and address.
• Buyer name and address.
• Vehicle description, including make, model, year, vehicle identification number (VIN), and license plate number. Some other states require the vehicle’s color and any distinguishing marks and/or features.
• If the seller purchased the vehicle but never registered it in their name, the bill of sale should include the previous owner(s) information.
• The amount paid for the vehicle.
• Ensure the bill-of-sale is signed by both you and the seller.
FAQ New Clearinghouse Registration for Commercial Vehicle Drivers
Did you know that Federal Regulations CFR 49 Part 382 states that it is mandatory for all California companies employing any driver who operates on California highways to register their companies and drivers on the new Clearinghouse Registration Program? This is for both interstate and intrastate drivers. This went into effect January 6, 2020. The registration deadline for all drivers was January 6, 2021.
What does the Clearinghouse actually do?
Once you are registered you will be able to record drivers’ drug and alcohol program violations. Employees now will have the ability to request drivers to give them their consent to check their records. Drivers will have to log in to provide proof or refuse consent. Employers and/or designated C/TPA;s will decide if the queried drivers Clearinghouse record contains information about drug and alcohol program violations. We can help you register. You will need to contact us and one of our representatives will get you set up.